Vegan No Bake Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake

16627585717_bd3eefab35_b

Lately I have a thing for the plum color. It’s such a blissful color. The plum color brings that feeling of passion, mystery and confident to me. I can completely picture myself in a beautiful gown made of plum color silk, walking around in a gorgeous garden followed by the man of my dreams, yeah I know…. taking the daydreaming to another level.

But yes, the plum color does something to me. Now you can imagine how all over the top I went when I bumped into this recipe where I saw these breathtaking pictures of something they said you could eat. How could somebody eat this piece of art? Linda the owner of the blog Call me Cupcake is for sure one of my favorite bloggers and inspiration when it comes to sweet recipes. Yes all credit to Linda for creating this amazing eatable piece of art. Linda (Lomelino) lives in a small town on the lovely Swedish west coast. Check her blog Call me Cupcake and if you love pastries as much as I do I’m pretty sure you will get addicted with her website.

Ok back on our delicious topic. I am helpless when it comes to pastries. I just can’t say no to anything made of sugar, chocolate, fruit and other delicious things that create the sweet sins in life like I love to call the cakes, macaroons, pies and many other sugar creations. So yes I fell in love with this brilliant vegan recipe of the no bake Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake in….PLUMP COLOR.

As I am a firm believer that sharing is caring I want to share this recipe with you as well. So start writing your grocery list and get the ingredients needed to create some magic in your kitchen.

Enjoy the kitchen fun.

Love,
Saskia


Recipe Vegan No Bake Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake

This cheesecake is completely gluten-free, dairy-free and egg-free
Makes 1 tiny cheesecake (12 cm/5 inches) but you can of course double the recipe ro make a bigger one!

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS:

CRUST
1/2 cup pitted dates
1/2 cup almonds
pinch of salt

FILLING
3/4 cup cashew nuts, soaked in water overnight then drained*
2 tbsp lemon juice
Zest from 1 small lemon
3 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1/3 cup coconut milk (full fat)
1-3 tbsp maple syrup (to taste)
1/4 cup (25 g) fresh or frozen (but thawed) blueberries

TOPPING
Freeze dried blueberry powder
Fresh blueberries
Shredded coconut
Edible flowers

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Soak the dates in warm water for 15 minutes then drain. Put almonds in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Add the dates and salt and pulse until a paste forms.

2. Press mixture into a 5-inch springform pan (if you don’t have a springform pan, use a pie tin or a regular cake pan covered with parchment paper). Put the pan in the freezer while you prepare the filling.

3. Put all ingredients for the filling in a blender and mix until mixture is as smooth as possible. Pour the filling into the crust, cover with plastic wrap and freeze for at least 4 hours.

4. Remove the cake from the pan and leave to thaw in room temperature for about 10-15 minutes before cutting. Top with freeze dried blueberry powder, fresh blueberries, shredded coconut and edible flowers. I usually run my knife under warm water (and dry off) before cutting, to make a cleaner cut. Let each piece thaw for a few more minutes before serving.

*If you’re in a hurry you can let the cashews soak in very hot water for 1 hour instead of overnight

Recipe and pictures adapted from Call Me Cupcake.


16211076824_2b9f7c7de1_b

16645872278_e0cb323bba_b

16646628510_f46176c502_b

Leave a Reply

